University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education

Project-Based Learning for Global Climate Justice

Penn GSE Professional Learning Program

 

September - December 2022 


The PBL for Global Climate Justice program brings together secondary school educators from across the country and around the world to design project-based learning curricula focused on the problems and questions of global climate change. This interdisciplinary program combines Penn GSE's expertise in project-based learning with the expertise of leading scholars in climate change research from the broader Penn community.



About This Program

The PBL for Global Climate Justice program is designed to take educators through 3 connected parts.

 

 

Part I: Explore

Format: Asynchronous
Dates: September 2 - September 30

Total Estimated Time: 6 hours

During part I, you will deepen your own understanding of global climate change issues and learn about how scholars and practitioners working in different disciplines authentically engage with such issues by exploring resources, materials, and videos on our online learning platform.

 

 

Part II: Envision

Format: Live virtual sessions

Dates: September 17 and 24

Total Estimated Time: 8 hours

During part II, you will learn about the principles of project-based learning and sketch out potential project ideas. To accommodate learners from across the globe, a variety of time zones are listed below.

September 17 & 24
US Pacific Time 7:00 - 9:30 am
US Eastern Time 10:00 am - 12:30 pm
Central European Time 4:00 - 6:30 pm
South Africa Time 4:00 - 6:30 pm
India Time 7:30 - 10:00 pm
China Time 10:00 pm - 12:30 am

 

 

Part III: Enact

Format: Synchronous
Dates: October - December 2022*

Total Estimated Time: 8 hours

In part III, you will implement your project with your students in your local context. You will also participate in multiple live virtual sessions with small teams of colleagues to connect, collaborate, reflect, and learn from each other's experiences. Your small team will be facilitated by an instructional coach to help you reflect and develop as a project-based learning educator.

*Dates and times will be determined once educator teams are formed.



 


What You'll Gain
  • Learn from leading climate and education experts
  • Create a project-based learning curriculum around climate change issues to implement in your classroom
  • Collaborate with a community of educators with a shared passion for project-based learning and environmental justice

Application and Registration

Ideal candidates for this program are those interested in designing climate change projects for secondary school students. This may include:

  • Secondary school educators in all subject areas
  • Instructional leaders
  • NGO educators and leaders
  • Out of school educators


Completing the program registration is simple and easy. Simply click on the “Register Now” button to complete your registration form.


Collaborative Partners

Listed below are this year's program collaborators:


Register



Registration Deadline: September 8

 


Duration

4 months


Location

Online


Cost

Free. Due to receiving grant funding, we are able to provide this program to the 2022 cohort at no cost to participants.


Certificate

Upon successful completion of the program, participants will receive a Penn GSE Certificate of Participation. This program is also eligible for ACT 48 credits for PA educators.


Contact Us

Please contact professionallearning@gse.upenn.edu with any questions about this program.


Cancellation and Refund Policy

If you have to cancel your registration prior to the program's start date, you will receive a fee credit, valid for one year, for a future Penn GSE Virtual Institute. If Penn GSE must cancel your registration, we will refund your payment in full, or you may request a fee credit as above.