Beyond the Walls: Building a Foundation for Jail Linkage Programs

Event Date: Thursday, February 24, 2022

 

Event Time: 1 - 2 pm EST | 12 - 1 pm CST | 11 am - 12 pm MDT | 10 - 11 am PST 

 

 


Details

Each year approximately 17% of people with HIV (PWH) in the U.S. will spend some time in jail or prison. This reality has significant implications for jurisdictions' Ending the HIV Epidemic (EHE) strategies and therefore it is vital that this population has the care they need as they transition into the community. Partnerships with correctional facilities offer jurisdictions a unique opportunity to strengthen linkage to care for people with HIV who are discharged from jail and reentering society.

 

This webinar will highlight effective models and best practices for connection to care for justice-involved PWH and describe how jurisdictions can overcome common barriers when managing a jail linkage program. The partnerships between jurisdiction's EHE teams and jail systems in Maricopa County (AZ) Jail System and the Orlando County (FL) exemplify the importance of implementation of evidence-informed interventions on both sides of 'the walls' to achieve the goals of the EHE initiative.


Please register for this webinar to learn more about Maricopa County's strategy to create a cross-sector, multi-faceted program to identify people with HIV and link them into care and services upon their release from jail. Orange County, Florida will share their jail linkage program, Enhance Orange County, and the steps they are taking to ensure clients maintain medical care while incarcerated and following their release.


Learning Objectives:

By the end of the webinar, participants will be able to:

  • Review incarceration statistics and disparities of people with HIV/AIDS
  • Review characteristics of effective programs to improve linkage to care for people with HIV released from jail or prison.
  • Demonstrate the use of process mapping, establishing outcome measures, and enhancing data monitoring systems to strengthen jail linkage program implementation.
  • Articulate common challenges with jail focused programs and strategic solutions

Panelist(s)

Cynthia Quinn

Family Nurse Practitioner

Maricopa County

Lisa Espinosa

Ending the HIV Epidemic Special Projects Manager

Maricopa County

Nicole Virtue

Program Manager

Orange County Health Services Department


Important Note

We have a new registration system!

For optimal interactive learning experience, joining with a smartphone, computer, or tablet with video and audio capability is recommended. The webinar will start promptly at the time indicated; we advise that you prepare to join the webinar a few minutes in advance of the start time.

If you have any questions or concerns, please email tap-in@caiglobal.org