Innovations in the ER: Collaborations Among Emergency Departments, TA Providers, & Health Jurisdictions to Identify and Treat HIV, HCV, and Syphilis

Event Time: 12 -1pm ET (9-10am PT, 10-11am MT, 11am -12pm CT) 


Registration will be open through 8/10/2021 5:00 PM
The registration period has closed for this event.

 


Details

Across the U.S., and likely, in your own jurisdiction, Emergency Departments are a key point of entry or re-entry into the healthcare system and the only source of healthcare for many marginalized populations.

 

 

Identifying, treating, linking, and re-engaging the hardest-to-reach people with HIV are critical steps in the Ending the HIV Epidemic Plan for the U.S. (EHE). Emergency Departments can and do play a crucial role in EHE efforts as they diagnose and treat people with multiple needs and co-morbidities every day. This webinar will highlight a collaboration among two Emergency Departments, a county health department, a state health department, and technical assistance providers to implement routine HIV, HCV, and syphilis screening to increase identification and reduce time to treatment for all three infections. We will also discuss how collaborations with Emergency Departments can assure effective referrals to medication assisted treatment (MAT) services for opioid users.

 

 

 

After this session, participants will be able to:

 

  1. Explain the critical role Emergency Rooms/Departments play in identifying and treating HIV, HCV, STIs and SUDs and ending the HIV Epidemic in both urban and rural settings
  2. Discuss how TAP-in, AETCs, and other partners can work with Emergency Departments and health jurisdictions to help high-risk patients link to or re-engage in high quality HIV/HCV treatment
  3. Review how TAP-in, AETCs, planning bodies, and others can best work with Emergency Departments and health jurisdictions to maximize health outcomes for the most vulnerable and hard-to-reach populations in your community

Panelist(s)

Tom Donohue, Professor of Family Medicine, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, TA Provider, TAP-in and PAETC-Los Angeles Area

Kathy Jacobson, MD,Chief, California STD Control Branch

Kristopher Lyon, MD,Public Health Officer Kern County, California

Kim Hernandez, MPH, Epidemiologist, Kern County Public Health

Kian Azimian, MD, Emergency Medicine Physician, Bakersfield Memorial Hospital


Important Note

We have a new registration system!

For optimal interactive learning experience, joining with a smartphone, computer, or tablet with video and audio capability is recommended. The webinar will start promptly at the time indicated; we advise that you prepare to join the webinar a few minutes in advance of the start time.

 

If you have any questions or concerns, please email tap-in@caiglobal.org