Status-Neutral in NYC, Texas, and Detroit: Expanding the Continuum to Improve Patient Experiences

Event Date: Thursday, January 27, 2022

 

Event Time: 12 - 1 pm EST | 11 am - 12 pm CST | 10 - 11 am MDT | 9 - 10 am PST 

 

 


Details

“Status-neutral” is an evolution and expansion of how HIV service agencies currently implement the HIV care continuum. Status-neutral encompasses the delivery of HIV prevention and care services while addressing the myriad social and health needs of patients regardless of their HIV status. “Status-neutral” embodies the new National HIV/AIDS Strategy's call for the acceleration of the HIV response by embedding HIV prevention and care into routine care to advance health equity.

This webinar will review the concept of status-neutral and provide examples of real-world applications from jurisdiction peers and leaders. Examples include addressing social determinants of health as part of HIV service delivery; normalizing conversations about sexual health; and addressing stigma by adopting status neutral in communications about services.


Join us to learn what the status neutral approach can mean for ending the epidemic in your jurisdiction.

By the end of the webinar, participants will be able to:

  • Describe the status neutral prevention and treatment cycle.
  • Identify status neutral benefits (e.g., less fractured service delivery for high risk/clients in need) and challenges (e.g., changes in reimbursement requirements/limitations, difficulties in resource-limited states and areas that haven't expanded Medicaid).
  • Identify characteristics of current prevention and care interventions that jurisdictions may wish to modify to align, as appropriate, with status neutral concepts, including possible implementation activities.
  • Deliver status neutral messaging—that any intervention with an individual is an opportunity to focus on prevention, care, and social determinants of health.



Panelist(s)

MODERATOR

 

Tom Donohoe

Professor of Family Medicine, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, TA Provider, TAP-in and PAETC-Los Angeles Area

 

 

SPEAKERS

 

Demetre Daskalakis, M.D., M.P.H.

Director, Division of HIV Prevention (pronounced D-H-P)

National Center for HIV, Viral Hepatitis, STD & TB Prevention

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

 

Benjamin Tsoi

New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene

 

Jesse Carter

Texas Department of State Health Services

 

Michael Canty

National Coalition of STD Directors

 

William Murphy

Project Director of TAP-in


Important Note

We have a new registration system!

For optimal interactive learning experience, joining with a smartphone, computer, or tablet with video and audio capability is recommended. The webinar will start promptly at the time indicated; we advise that you prepare to join the webinar a few minutes in advance of the start time.

If you have any questions or concerns, please email tap-in@caiglobal.org